You are here

"The Coming Wave: Technology, Power, and the 21st Century's Greatest Dilemma" – A Group Book Discussion

February 8, 2024

"The Coming Wave: Technology, Power, and the 21st Century's Greatest Dilemma" – A Group Book Discussion

Thursday, 08 February 2024
11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET

Join us for a group discussion of the book "The Coming Wave: Technology, Power, and the 21st Century's Greatest Dilemma" by Mustafa Suleyman – a co-founder of the pioneering AI company DeepMind which is at the epicenter of the AI revolution. Shortlisted for the Financial Times business book of the year for 2023, the book poses an important question for the present and the future of what will happen as two core technologies (artificial intelligence and synthetic biology) proliferate, describes what the author sees as possible outcomes if the technologies are not constrained (some empowering and some catastrophic) and examines possible constraints, their efficacy, and our willingness to adopt them. The book is thought-provoking as is the follow-up question: What roles might we as technology lawyers play in advancing and constraining these technologies? We look forward to a lively discussion about this interesting book, which many consider a must-read, and the important questions it raises.

Purchase the Book


Hosted By: Interactive Entertainment and Media Substantive Law Committee