You are here

ITechLaw's 50th Anniversary Celebration & Award

This year, the International Technology Law Association (ITechLaw) celebrates 50 years of being the leading global organization for legal professionals focused on the practice of technology and law. To mark this momentous occasion, ITechLaw will be honoring five (5) individuals who have made a global impact and an outstanding contribution to the fields of technology and law. ITechLaw will be awarding these five awards based on the geographic location of the individual: North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific, India, and Latin America. 

The first award was given to Brad Smith, President and Vice Chair of Microsoft, at the 2022 World Technology Law Conference held in San Francisco on 26 May 2022. Mr. Smith was selected as the first recipient of this global award based on his outstanding legal career as a technology lawyer and technology advocate while working at one of the largest technology companies in the world. Not only has Mr. Smith previously spoken at several ITechLaw conferences, but he has also been a great promoter of "Tech for Good" and "Responsible AI" principles, including by supporting ITechLaw's "Responsible AI" book published in 2019. 

The second award was given to Spiros Simitis, known to many as the “Father of Data Protection,” Spiros Simitis has had a remarkable personal and professional engagement in data protection. The award was presented at the 2022 European Conference held in Zürich, Switzerland on 20 October 2022.

The third award will be for India and presented at the 2023 International India Conference, 18-20 January 2023 in Bengaluru, India. This year, we are honored to award the Honorable Justice Bellur Narayanaswamy Srikrishna. 

We invite you to join us to celebrate ITechLaw's 50th Anniversary in person at our upcoming events

50th Anniversary Committee 

In honor of celebrating 50 years of the International Technology Law Association (ITechLaw), the ITechLaw 50th Anniversary Committee was established. The 50th Anniversary Committee is committed to honoring and celebrating the past 50 years of the association and to showcasing its future trajectory. We invite you to join us to celebrate ITechLaw's 50th Anniversary in-person at our upcoming events

  • Susan Barty, Past President 2016-2017, United Kingdom
  • John Beardwood, Past President 2012-2013, Fasken, Canada
  • Alex Blumrosen, Past President 2011-2012, Polaris Law, France
  • Carmen De la Cruz, Board Member, LEXcellence AG, Switzerland
  • Jenna Karadbil, Past President 2015-2016, Law Offices of Jenna F. Karadbil, United States
  • Gabriela Kennedy, ITechLaw Immediate Past President 2021-2022, Mayer Brown, Hong Kong
  • Michael Peeters, ITechLaw President, DAC Beachcroft LLP, United Kingdom
2023 International India Conference & 50th Anniversary Celebration